I’ve begun again a refretting of my stratocaster from high school.  Last Septemb, I yanked the frets off it & tried to tie on frets with wire.  It didn’t work!  But this time, I intend to follllllllllllllllow the tried & true method of Dante Rosati, who’s refretted three classical guitars to play in just intonation scales.  Jacob & I had the opportunity to meet him & catch a performance in Chicago a few weeks back, & it helped renew my interest in microtonal refretting.

So last night at Oddmusic Office Hours I picked up some “dark walnut” wood putty & stuck it between the frets.

Andrew puts putty in the fret holes on his stratocaster.

Andrew puts putty in the fret holes on his stratocaster.

I sanded it a bit today & took some of that putty off.  Next, I’ll need paint, wire, & guitar strings (I already have superglue).  Hopefully, I can start gluing new frets on this week.

What will I tune it to, you ask?  I will tell you, but not just yet.  After all, I haven’t started adding frets, so that answer could change completely!

Andrew's strat, puttied.

Andrew's strat, puttied.

Leave a Reply

